A lot of people these days have been searching for ways that they can be able to delete messages that they would have sent to other people. This is because of many different reasons that they alone know. Some would have sent messages that they would later think that they made a mistake by sending, some might have their own reasons for wanting to delete already. Snapchat now provides users with a way to do so as will be explained in the review below.
How to remove Snapchat messages that someone else saved
Below is a step by step process of how you can delete already sent messages on Snapchat:
Open your chat
Firstly you need to open the Snapchat app, open the chat containing the message that you want to delete. If you had saved the message you can long-press it and tap on “unsave” to unsave the message. When you do this you will unsave the message on your end only. If the other person did not save the message as well it will be automatically deleted after 24 hours. If the other person had saved the message it will not be deleted. As long as one person saved the message, it will not be automatically deleted from the chat. You and the person should not save your messages so that they can be automatically deleted after 24 hours.
Long press the message and tap on “Delete”
The next step is that you have to long-press the message that you want to delete and you will be given four options you can choose from. The four options are to Unsave in Chat, Copy, Snap Reply, and Delete. If you had saved the message you can tap on “Unsave in Chat” to unsave the message. If the other person on the other side had not saved the message it will automatically be the other person did not save the message as well, it will be automatically deleted after 24 hours. There also is the copy option that allows you to copy the message on the clipboard with the “Snap Reply” option which will quote the chat and you can reply with a snap. Lastly, there is the “Delete” option that will delete the chat which is the option that you would want to be using. You then tap on “Delete” and a pop-up message might then appear.
Select learn more, then tap on “Okay”
In the third step, you have to select “Okay” if you received a pop-up message. The pop-up message will only appear if you tapped on “Learn More” and it might also appear when you are making use of the “Delete” option for the first time. When you tap on Okay you will be reverted back to the delete option and you will see that there will be certain restrictions that you will find whenever you decide that you want to delete a message. The message that would have deleted, Snapchat will in turn try to remove that message from their database and the device that the other person on the other end will be using. It however might not work if the person on the other end happens to have a poor internet connection or if they have an old version of Snapchat. You have to keep in mind that it is only the messages that you would have sent that you can delete for everyone, not those that would have been sent by the other person.
Last but not the least, you have to tap on “Delete” to delete the message. When you manage to delete the message the other person can see that you have deleted that message. The fact that you would have gotten a pop-up message that will be saying that Friends can see that you have deleted something makes it possible for the other person to see that you would have deleted the message that you would have previously sent. Before you delete any message that you would have sent you to have to keep in mind that the person on the other end will know that you would have deleted your message.
View your chat
As soon as you delete a message you have to view your chat again. There will be an in-chat notification that will be written: “You deleted a chat”. The notification will be made available to both you and the other person.
It is with no reasonable doubt that a lot of people would want to delete messages that they would have sent to other people. This is because at times there would have made a mistake or realized that they do not want to say what they would have said to that person. The review above gives you step-by-step instructions on how Snapchat has made it easy for you to be able to delete messages that you would have sent to the other person.